RoHS Compliance

Other Resources


Last updated

India RoHS

India RoHS became law in May, 2014, and restricts the same 6 substances under RoHS 2 (2011/65/EU). Unlike the EU that has separate directives for RoHS and WEEE, India combines the requirements into a single legislation. India RoHS has differences in product categories and products that are in scope and that are exempted:

In-Scope Categories

EU Category 1: Refrigerators, washing machines, air-conditioning units (except centralized A/C units) only

EU Category 3: all except for calculators, printer cartridges, equipment for collecting, storing, processing, or transmitting information electronically

EU Category 4: Television sets only

Exempted Categories

·: Products for military and national defense
·: Products where electricity is not the primary power source
·: Products where the primary function does not require electricity (e.g. talking dolls)
·: Sub-assembly or component of exempted product category
·: Products that serve small manufacturing and service businesses as defined under the Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises Development Act of 2006
·: Batteries
·: Radioactive waste

India has a number of specific-use lead exemptions similar to that for EU RoHS Annex III Exemptions, as well as for cadmium and mercury.

Compliance enforcement protocols and penalties for non-compliance are not specified.